Art Historians Abroad, Student Profiles

Art Historian Abroad: Allie Mickle

A L L I E  M I C K L E  I N  C H I N A !

Untitled
Me in front of two works from Yang Yongliang’s The Silent Valley series on display at the Museum of Contemporary Art Shanghai

I had the opportunity to go to Shanghai, China for two weeks this summer to do research for my graduate thesis. My thesis is focused on artist Yang Yongliang, whose studio is based in Shanghai, and issues of globalization within the contemporary art world. Throughout my trip I visited countless galleries and museums to truly immerse myself in the Chinese art scene, attending openings and meeting with museum professionals. I also was able to find a lot of new scholarship that is not readily available online or in America. Most notable however was my personal interview with Yang Yongliang in his studio. I was able to meet with him for two sessions, and had the amazing opportunity of seeing some of his most recent works in person, as well as at various galleries throughout the city. At the end of my trip I was able to attend the 2015 West Bund Art & Design Fair, where I visited the booths of international galleries and art houses, which was a great way to end an informative trip.

At the West Bund Art & Design Fair
At the West Bund Art & Design Fair
Exploring the various small galleries of Shanghai’s contemporary art district Moganshan Lu or M50.
Exploring the various small galleries of Shanghai’s contemporary art district Moganshan Lu or M50.
One of Yang Yongliang’s newest videos Rising Mist on view at the Power Station of Art
One of Yang Yongliang’s newest videos Rising Mist on view at the Power Station of Art
Leave a Reply

